Opening Plenary

Tuesday 14 May 2019 | 14:00-20:00 | room: Eiffel 3 & 2

According to the United Nations, progress on the Sustainable Development Goals remains uneven, and is not moving fast enough to meet the ambitious 17 goals by 2030.

A sense of urgency is required to design and implement an accelerated transformation of our economic systems, starting with clean, renewable energy to power sustainable development, along with responsible freshwater management to cope with the challenges of climate change.

Against this backdrop, the opening session of the World Hydropower Congress will set the scene for two days of discussions and debates with experts and decision-makers from around the world, looking to ensure that sustainable hydropower plays a positive role in addressing the world’s energy, water and climate challenges.

Thought-leaders from international institutions, governments and businesses will share their views on the role of hydropower in meeting the Sustainable Development Goals and the target set in the Paris Agreement. A particular focus will be on collaborative approaches across renewable energy technologies as well as across sectors, stakeholders and traditional boundaries.


International organisations

Ken Adams – President, International Hydropower Association

Elliot Harris – Assistant Secretary General, UNDESA

Fatih Birol – Executive Director, International Energy Agency

Riccardo Puliti – Head of the Energy and Extractive Resources Global Practice, World Bank Group

Giulio Boccaletti – Chief Strategy Officer, The Nature Conservancy

HE Amani Abou-Zeid – Commissioner for Infrastructure and Energy, African Union Commission



Jean-Bernard Lévy – CEO, EDF Group

José Alberto Alderete – Director General (Paraguay), Itaipu Binacional

Irene Cañas Díaz – CEO, Instituto Costarricense de Electricidad

Jorge Londoño De La Cuesta – CEO, EPM

Pascal Radue – President and CEO, Hydro Solutions, GE Renewable Energy

Lin Chuxue – Executive Vice-President, China Three Gorges

Discussion moderated by Roger Gill, Vice-President, IHA



Hon. Luis Chang – Minister of Energy & Mines, Guatemala

Hon. Barsha Man Pun – Minister of Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation, Nepal

Y.B. Dato Sri Dr. Stephen Rundi Utom – Minister of Utilities (Sarawak), Malaysia

Shri Aniruddha Kumar – Joint Secretary of Power, India

Daniel Simmons – Assistant Secretary, Department of Energy, USA

Øivind Johansen – Director, Ministry of Energy, Norway

Moderated by Greg Tracz, Chief Development Officer, IHA


Renewable energy

Rana Adib – Executive Secretary, REN21

Stefan Gsaenger – Secretary General, WWEA

Ruslana Lyzhychko – ReNewDay Ambassador


Discussion moderated by Richard Taylor, CEO, IHA


An evening reception for all congress participants will follow at 18:00.










Register to attend

Follow us